Savory Bites and Bits

I like the smokey taste that bacon can offer to a salad, eggs, or anything else.  I don’t necessarily want extra meat in my dishes that already have protein.  So what do you do when you want a little crunch, savory flair, and a garnish for your meal of choice? RECREATE!

I had some frozen coconut chunks in my freezer and I decided to marinate them in some coconut aminos, South African Smoke seasoning and Garlic powder.  Holy Moly!!! This was probably one of the best decisions I have made.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups of Trader Joe’s Frozen Coconut Chunks.
  • 1/3 cup coconut aminos.
  • 1 tsp garlic powder.
  • 1 tsp Trader Joe’s South African Smoke Seasoning.
  • Olive oil for cooking.

Directions:

  •  

    In a baggie, put your coconut chunks, seasonings, and your coconut aminos and let marinate for a few hours or up to a day.

  • Before you cook them cut them in half so that the squares are thinner.
  • IMG_8892

    Using a grill pan, cook up the marinaded chunks of coconut.  Make sure you spray the pan or use some olive oil.  Also, cook it in the remainder of the marinade.  Make sure the chunks get nice and browned, but not burned.

    IMG_8893

    I used my toaster oven baking pan and put parchment paper on it. I put the cooked coconut chunks on that parchment covered pan and baked at 200 for about an hour.  This helped to soften them up a bit more and really let the flavor sink it.

    IMG_8894

    Cut your coconut chunks up into tiny squares so they are ready to sprinkle on top of any savory dish.  You can eat whole if you prefer, but I think they are best as a garnish.

    IMG_8895

    Served over a bed of wilted greens, and beets.  Super delicious!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Savory Bites and Bits

  1. Pingback: “Cheesy Bacon” Casserole | Bissel of This and That

Leave a comment