Pumpkin Pie

Thanksgiving is approaching and I think it is smart to have a guilt free pumpkin pie up my sleeves for family and friends.

As I am typing this, I think about how the idea of “guilt free” used to mean so many things.  I remember how sugar free snacks were all the rage or anything that said fat free.  It didn’t matter what kind of chemicals or chemical process made them that way, as long as the label advertised the product to be our ticket to a better and sexier future.

I can’t tell you how many times people will tell me that something is healthy because of how many grams of protein something has or how many calories something contains.  I will always repeatedly ask people what the ingredients are in the product.  Why?  Because, that is all the information you need to know if it will cause harm to your body or not.  The rest is to know how much of it you need.

I believe holidays are made to enjoy family, friends and of course great food.  However, I don’t think it is a reason to eat crap food and bitch about it for a week.  I find no fault in creating wonderful, tasty food that happens to be great for you too.  I think too often, we forget that it is possible to do both.

Be kind to yourself and be kind to your loved ones.  Eat well. Live well.

Crust Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup of almond flour
  • 2 tbsp avocado oi
  • l tbsp of cold water
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in 9×9 cake pan and press evenly.  With a fork put a few holes in it.  Bake on 350 for about 10 mins.

 

Ingredients for filling:

  • 1/2 cup organic unsweetened creamed coconut
  • 1 cup cashew milk
  • 1/2 -3/4 cup pitted dates (depending on personal taste)
  • 2 tbsp of grass fed gelatin
  • 1 cup organic pureed pumpkin
  • 1-2 tbsp of cinnamon (depending on taste)
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract

Directions:

  • In a saucepan on medium heat, mix creamed dates, coconut and cashew milk together until  the creamed coconut is melted.
  • stir in the pumpkin puree, vanilla extract, cinnamon.
  • remove from heat and add the gelatin and mix thoroughly.
  • Add everything to the blender and blend together.

img_7558

Pour filling into the cooled crust pan.

img_7560

Bake on 350 for about 25 mins.

Remove from oven and put directly in fridge to cool.  It might look a little loose still, but it just needs to cool.  I PROMISE!

 

img_7561

Finished product! Super tasty!

This entry was posted in Dessert, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment