Sandwich Cookies

Since Halloween is just around the corner, now is the perfect time to figure out some tasty, chocolate and pumpkin laden treats to indulge in so we can ditch the bags of candy that lurk  in every aisle of any convenience store.

I love a good cookie and I am almost thankful for my Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis.  Why? Because if I didn’t have it, in any moment of weakness there would be a chance I could be binge eating  on a pack of Oreo cookies.

I decided that rather than complain about not being able to have the cookies I want, I will just figure out a way to make the cookies that I want.  I also decided I would make them Halloween ready.

Ingredients For the Cookie:

  • 1.5 my homemade cashew flour(Any nut flour will do)
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal +3 tbsp of water)
  • 1/4 cup pitted dates
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 325.

Put all the ingredients in the food processor and pulse until everything is fully blended.

Ball up your cookie dough and then press into a flat 50 cent size piece or silver dollar size depending on how large or small you want it onto parchment paper.

Bake for 10 minutes.

Once it is done, let cool in the freezer (still on the parchment paper.)

 

Ingredients for the filling:

  • 1/4-1/2 cup dates (depending on how sweet you like)
  • 1/2 cup  organic pureed pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup cashew milk or non dairy milk of choice
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened organic creamed coconut
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Put everything into the food processor or blender and blend until everything is completely smooth.  IMG_7502.JPG

Once it is done spread on one of the cookies and place another cookie on top to sandwich them together.  Place in the freezer and and remove when ready to eat.  Let them thaw for a minute before eating.  They are such a great snack that the whole family will enjoy!

img_7518

This entry was posted in Dessert, Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment